Environment | Our approach to sustainability

Environment
haut-de-page-vert-259

Aim for zero environmental impact

Adisseo is pursuing its reduction policy for the impact of its activities on the environment and has set ambitious new environmental objectives. With these first public engagements, the company will contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals set in September 2015 by the UN’s 193 member states.

OUR FIRST ENVIRONMENTAL COMMITMENTS

sdg-6
sdg-7
sdg-13

Strong growth in activity

The activity index illustrates the development of the quantities produced in Commentry, Roches Roussillon, Burgos and Nanjing. Activity remained high in 2018. Several investments to increase the capacity of our European facilities were made at the end of 2018. This should be considered in light of the controlled and improved environmental results for several facilities.

Environment
Environment

Material consumption is directly related to the slightly higher rate of activity in 2018.

Environment

Good control of water consumption. Particular attention paid to loss of drinking water due to leakage, leading to further reduction in responsible consumption.

TOWARDS A SUSTAINABLE ACTIVITY

sdg-3
sdg-12

A new water treatment plant

The construction of the new waste water treatment plant, “O’disseo”, on the Commentry site (France) has begun. This facility will help reduce odour emissions and meet new environmental norms in 2021. It is a new step towards the “Zero Odour” objective which Adisseo has set itself.

The infrastructure will have the latest technology in terms of water treatment. Ultimately, it will process 5500 m3 of water per day, with a possibility of rising up to 7000 m3. With a greater capacity than the current plant, it will help meet future needs.

The budget for the project amounts to EUR 19.3 million, including EUR 4.3 million subsidised by the L’Agence de l’Eau Loire-Bretagne, and it will begin operations in July 2020. Veolia, a company specialised in water treatment, will be responsible for running this new facility.

Environment

Sustainable transport

During the Sustainable Development Week, Adisseo Roches-Roussillon (France) won two awards for its Green&Blue approach and its initiatives in terms of multimodal transport.

In this regard, a transport charter is now being applied by all companies on the industrial platform and their transporters.

Transport is a major concern to meet global sustainable development goals. Hence, Adisseo is doing everything in its power to reduce road risk, minimise environmental impact and secure supply and shipment flows.

CERN acquires electric vehicles

This year, the Centre of Expertise and Research in Nutrition (CERN) acquired a second electric vehicle. Management on site has asserted its desire to drop combustion engine vehicles and to contribute to the goal which Adisseo set, of reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 20% by 2025.

Environment

Greenhouse gas emissions (the sum of direct and indirect emissions) have significantly decreased in the last few years despite a high rate of activity. This is the result of various energy-saving actions carried out in all our industrial facilities, as well as several structuring investments (example of steam being supplied by a biomass plant in Commentry, in Allier, France).

1 ,5 %

of total emissions
of GGE

DID YOU KNOW?

Livestock farming is responsible for 14.5% of total GGE emissions (Greenhouse Gas Emission)

Source: FAO 2013 Report, “Tackling climate change through livestock”

New supply flows to remain competitive

In a changing international market, Adisseo had to adapt its supply chain and supply flows while endeavouring to limit the impact of our carbon footprint.

In order to deal with the recent hardening of the US trade policy with an increase in custom duties on products imported from China, Adisseo has had to change its flows and logistics chain accordingly for the industrial sites in Burgos and Nanjing.

Environment

From now on, flows from China towards the USA have been redirected, favouring supply via Europe. One of Adisseo’s objectives was to ensure that the impact on the carbon footprint was minimized.

Reduction of our atmospheric emissions in China

Adisseo’s site in Nanjing has invested more than EUR 3.5 million in implementing an electrostatic filter to help reduce the dust content of smoke.

Environment
Environment

NOx (nitrogen oxides) emissions have improved remarkably in 2018 with the use of ammonia injection at the level of the gaseous effluents treatment process thermal oxyder (PTO) on the Roussillon site (France) and improvement actions in the other industrial facilities. SOx (sulphur oxides) emissions have returned to safe levels after an increase in 2017 relating to a more significant use of safety torches on the Saint-Clair-du-Rhône site (France) mainly due to several sudden power losses on the whole site.

“Zero Odour”

 Since 2016, Adisseo has launched a “Zero Odour” project on its production sites. The objective: reducing possible odour nuisance for the local population. The most exposed areas were identified thanks to the mapping of odour-generating sources, and specific actions have been defined.

In 2018, the Nanjing platform implemented the Antares project. This EUR 3.5 million investment is intended to reduce the organic sulphur content of ammonium sulphate, which improves the quality of the end product and reduces the odour impact in the final stages of manufacturing.

1 ,5 M€

investment
on the Nanjing industrial platform

Environment

That same year, the Roussillon plant redirected one of its major odorous flows, which was previously released into the atmosphere, towards the unit’s gaseous effluents’ treatment process thermal oxyder. Several sources of odour-generating wastewater have been identified and channelled through culverts instead of simple gutters.

Adisseo takes part in the “Solvay Way” Days

During the “Solvay Way 2018” Days which focused on the theme “Safety, Sustainable Development, Mobility and Quality of Life at Work”, two employees in our Cinachem and Cinatech laboratories held a booth which introduced Adisseo’s approach and commitment to “odour management”. They introduced our actions on the industrial sites and in laboratories and presented ongoing projects and good practices using mini-games.

Our first participation to this event was greatly appreciated and visitors were impressed by all the actions we have carried out as well as our knowledge of the topic.

Enhanced panache

For its sustainable development policy and in order to meet important local residents requests, the Burgos plant has invested EUR 500,000 in a new 50-meters high chimney to replace the old 27-meters high one. This new installation in the SOtreatment unit helps avoid fog and frost phenomena for the site’s neighbouring residents. This effective action was recognised by the locals themselves.

Waste

(thousand metric tons)

Generally there has been a slight improvement in the total quantity of waste generated by our activity, enabled by the various control actions we have undertaken on the reliability and performance of our units as well as on our waste water treatment plants.

Environment
Environment

A significant decrease in the overall quantity of our aqueous discharges in the context of a high activity rate. Improvement plans are being developed, in particular to increase the performance of our treatment plants and thus reduce the various components of aqueous discharges.

Adisseo strengthens its commitment in favour of renewable energy

After having secured its supply of bio-mass-based steam for its French plant in Commentry, Adisseo has reasserted its commitment to sustainable growth, renewable energy and the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions with another project in Spain.

The Adisseo Group signed an electricity supply contract with French electricity supplier Engie for its Burgos plant in Spain, 100% based on renewable energy (solar and wind). Operational in 2020, this agreement has been signed for a period of 10 years.

Thanks to this agreement, Adisseo Burgos will contribute to the development of renewable energy in Spain and will be able to incorporate this in its goal of the reduction of CO2 emissions.

Environment
Environment

Our overall direct energy consumption is directly related to our rate of activity and is monitored thanks to improvements aiming to reduce said consumption (optimisation of natural combustion gas consumption in particular and energy recovery, etc.). The implementation of a biomass plant on the Commentry site (Allier, France) increases the share of primary indirect energy which is bought while reducing the share of primary indirect energy produced.

SEE ALSO

Environnement | Notre démarche développement durable

Environnement
haut-de-page-vert-259

L’environnement

Adisseo poursuit sa politique de réduction des impacts de ses activités sur l’environnement, et adopte de nouveaux objectifs environnementaux ambitieux. Par ces premiers engagements publics, l’entreprise contribue à la réalisation des Objectifs Développement Durable établis en Septembre 2015 par les 193 pays membres des Nations Unies.

NOS PREMIERS ENGAGEMENTS PUBLICS EN ENVIRONNEMENT

odd_06
odd_07
odd_13

Activité en augmentation par rapport aux années précédentes

L’indice d’activité traduit l’évolution des quantités produites à Commentry, Roches Roussillon, Burgos et Nanjing. L’activité est restée à un niveau élevé en 2018. Plusieurs investissements d’augmentation de capacité des unités européennes ont été réalisés sur fin 2018. Cela est à mettre en regard des résultats environnementaux maîtrisées et améliorés pour plusieurs d’entre eux.

Environnement
Environnement

La consommation de matières est en lien direct avec le taux d’activité en très légère hausse en 2018.

VERS UNE ACTIVITÉ RESPONSABLE

odd_03
odd_12

Une nouvelle station de traitement des eaux

La construction de la nouvelle station de traitement des eaux usées “O’disseo” sur le site de Commentry (France) a débuté. Cette installation permettra de réduire les émissions olfactives et de répondre aux nouvelles normes environnementales applicables dès 2021. C’est un nouveau pas vers l’objectif “Zéro Odeur” que s’est fixé Adisseo.

L’infrastructure disposera des dernières technologies en matière de traitement des eaux. À terme, elle traitera 5.500 m3 d’eau par jour, avec une possibilité d’aller jusqu’à 7.000 m3. Possédant une plus grande capacité que l’actuelle station, elle permettra de répondre aux besoins futurs.

Le budget du projet s’élève à 19,3 millions d’euros, dont 4,3 M€ subventionnés par l’Agence de l’Eau Loire-Bretagne, sa mise en service est prévue en juillet 2020. C’est Veolia, entreprise spécialisée dans le traitement des eaux, qui se chargera de son exploitation.

Environnement
Environnement

Bonne maîtrise de la consommation en eau. Attention particulière apportée aux pertes d’eau potable par fuite conduisant à une poursuite de la baisse de consommation engagée.

Transport durable 

À l’occasion de la Journée du Développement Durable, Adisseo Roches Roussillon (France) a remporté deux prix pour sa démarche Green&Blue et ses initiatives en matière de transport multimodal.

À cet égard, une charte transport est désormais appliquée par toutes les entreprises de la plateforme industrielle et leurs transporteurs.

Le transport est un enjeu majeur pour répondre aux objectifs mondiaux du développement durable. C’est pourquoi Adisseo met tout en œuvre afin de réduire au maximum le risque routier, minimiser son impact environnemental et sécuriser ses flux d’approvisionnement et d’expédition.

Le CERN s’équipe de véhicules électriques 

Cette année le Centre d’Expertise et de Recherche en Nutrition (CERN) s’est doté d’un second véhicule électrique. Le site affirme sa volonté d’abandonner les engins à moteur thermique et de participer à l’objectif que s’est fixé Adisseo de réduire de 20% ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre d’ici 2025.

Environnement

Les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (somme des émissions directes et indirectes) sont en baisse significative sur ces dernières années malgré un taux d’activité élevé. Ceci est le fruit des différentes actions d’économie d’énergie menées sur l’ensemble de nos installations industrielles et de plusieurs investissements structurants (exemple de la fourniture de vapeur par une centrale biomasse à Commentry (Allier – France).

1 ,5 %

des émissions totales
de GES

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

L’élevage est à l’origine de 14,5% des émissions totales de GES (Gaz à Effet de Serre)

Source : Rapport 2013 de la FAO “Tackling climate change through livestock”

De nouveaux flux d’approvisionnement pour rester compétitifs

Sur un marché international très changeant, Adisseo doit adapter sa chaîne d’approvisionnement et ses flux de distribution tout en s’attachant à limiter les effets sur le bilan carbone.

Pour faire face au durcissement récent de la politique commerciale des USA, au travers de l’augmentation des droits de douane sur les produits d’origine Chinoise, Adisseo a dû modifier ses flux et sa chaîne logistique en conséquence pour ses sites industriels de Burgos et de Nanjing.

Environnement

Désormais, les flux depuis la Chine vers les USA ont été réorientés en privilégiant les approvisionnements via l’Europe. Un des objectifs d’Adisseo était alors de veiller à minimiser l’impact sur l’empreinte carbone.

Réduction de nos rejets atmosphériques en Chine

Le site Adisseo de Nanjing a investi 3,5 millions d’euros, dans la mise en place d’un filtre électrostatique permettant de réduire la teneur en poussière dans les fumées.

Environnement
Environnement

Les émissions NOx (Oxydes d’azote) se sont nettement améliorées en 2018 avec la mise en service d’une injection d’ammoniac au niveau du four du traitement des effluents gazeux du site de Roussillon et des actions d’amélioration sur les autres installations industrielles. Les émissions de SOx (oxydes de soufre) sont revenues à un niveau correct après une augmentation en 2017 liée à une utilisation plus importante des torches de sécurité sur le site de Saint Clair du Rhône du fait principalement de plusieurs pertes brutales d’électricité sur l’ensemble du site.

“Zéro Odeur”

Depuis 2016, Adisseo a lancé un projet “Zéro Odeur” sur ses sites de production. Objectif : diminuer les éventuelles nuisances olfactives auprès des populations locales. Les zones les plus exposées ont été identifiées grâce à des cartographies des sources odorantes et des actions spécifiques ont été définies.

En 2018, la plateforme de Nanjing a mis en place le projet Antares. Cet investissement de 3,5 millions d’euros, est destiné à diminuer la teneur en organiques soufrés dans le sulfate d’ammonium, ce qui améliore la qualité du produit fini et diminue son impact odorant dans les dernières étapes de fabrication.

1 ,5 M€

d’investissement
sur la plateforme industrielle de Nanjing

Environnement

La même année, l’usine de Roussillon a redirigé un des flux odorants le plus important, auparavant rejeté dans l’atmosphère, vers son four de traitement des effluents gazeux de l’unité. Plusieurs effluents aqueux identifiés comme sources d’odeurs ont également été canalisés dans des tuyauteries au lieu de simples caniveaux.

Adisseo participe aux Journées “Solvay Way”

À l’occasion des Journées “Solvay Way 2018” qui avaient pour thème “Sécurité, développement durable, mobilité et qualité de vie au travail”, deux collaborateurs de nos laboratoires Cinachem et Cinatech ont tenu un stand pour présenter la démarche et l’engagement d’Adisseo dans le “Management des odeurs”. Ils ont exposé nos actions sur les sites industriels et les laboratoires, et ont communiqué sur les projets en cours et les bonnes pratiques, au travers de mini jeux.

Notre première participation à cet événement a été grandement appréciée et les visiteurs ont été impressionnés par l’ensemble des actions menées et notre connaissance du sujet.

Un panache réhaussé

Dans le cadre de sa politique développement durable et pour répondre à une demande forte exprimée par les riverains, l’usine de Burgos a investi 500 000 € pour s’équiper d’une nouvelle cheminée de 50 mètres de hauteur, en remplacement de l’ancienne de 27 mètres. Cette nouvelle installation au niveau de l’unité de traitement SO2, permet d’éviter des phénomènes de brouillard et de givre au niveau des résidences voisines du site. Une action efficace, reconnue par les riverains eux-mêmes.

Déchets

(en kilotonnes)

La quantité globale de déchets issus de notre activité est globalement en léger progrès. Les différentes actions de maîtrise menées sur la fiabilité et performance des unités ainsi que sur celles des stations de traitement des eaux usées ont permis ce résultat.

Environnement
Environnement

Une baisse significative de la quantité globale de nos rejets aqueux dans le contexte d’un taux d’activité élevé. Des plans d’amélioration sont développés visant en particulier à augmenter la performance de nos stations de traitement et diminuer ainsi les différentes composantes des rejets aqueux.

Adisseo renforce son engagement en faveur des énergies durables

Après avoir sécurisé son approvisionnement en vapeur produite à partir de biomasse pour son usine française de Commentry, Adisseo confirme, avec un autre projet important en Espagne, son engagement en faveur de la croissance durable, des énergies renouvelables et de la réduction de ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Le Groupe Adisseo a signé avec le fournisseur d’énergie français Engie, un contrat de fourniture d’électricité pour son usine de Burgos en Espagne, 100% à base d’énergie renouvelable (solaire et éolienne). Opérationnel à partir de 2020, cet accord a été signé pour une durée de 10 ans.

Grâce à cet accord, Adisseo Burgos va contribuer au développement des énergies renouvelables en Espagne et pouvoir l’intégrer dans ses objectifs de réduction de ses émissions de CO2.

Environnement
Environnement

La consommation d’énergie directe totale est en lien direct avec le taux d’activité et est maîtrisée grâce à nos actions d’amélioration visant à sa diminution (optimisation de la consommation de gaz naturel de combustion en particulier et récupération d’énergie…). La mise en service de la centrale biomasse sur le site de Commentry (Allier – France) augmente la part de l’énergie indirecte primaire achetée tout en diminuant celle de l’énergie indirecte primaire produite.

VOIR AUSSI